Русская версия
Alexander Bakhchiev and Elena Sorokina

The art of piano duo playing had been flourishing from the mid-18th throughout the 19th century and then almost entirely forgotten by the early 1900s. Since the late 1960s, Alexander Bakhchiev and Elena Sorokina revived this genre of performance in Russia. By now it has become an integral part of musical life, and has also been rediscovered to be a superb method of teaching piano playing, which is practiced in many schools of music all over Russia.

Over the years, Alexander Bakhchiev and Elena Sorokina became unanimously recognized as the leading duo couple in Russia and retained this status for more than four decades. In the early 1970s, they conducted monthly TV programs dedicated to duo playing, in which they performed more than one hundred original duet compositions. Many of those compositions were performed for the first time in the Soviet Union. Programs were broadcast by the central television channel of the Soviet Union, and helped raise a whole generation of musicians and amateurs throughout the country.

Alexander Bakhchiev and Elena SorokinaThrough extensive touring in Russia, Europe, United States, Canada, Israel, and Japan, Sorokina and Bakhchiev received world recognition. Their enormous repertoire covered the majority of ensemble works originally written for four hands on one piano and for two pianos, from the earliest duet pieces to modern compositions dedicated to them by some of the best contemporary composers (among them I. Manukyan, T. Moore, G. Fried, L. Lyubovsky, A. Boyarsky, A. Schnittke, E. Podgaits, S. Gubaidulina and others). The duet often performed thematic concert series such as “The Music Capitals of the World,” “The Complete Mozart Piano Duets,” “The Complete Schubert Piano Duets,” “The Complete Schumann Piano Duets,” “The Complete Rachmaninov Piano Duets,” “J. S. Bach, His Family and Students,” “J. S. Bach, the Complete Concertos for Two Claviers with Strings,” “Duets of the French Composers,” “Music of the Old Vienna,” “Music of Pushkin's Saint Petersburg,” “Music in Moscow of the Silver Age,” “From the History of the Duet Sonata,” and others. Many of the programs were released on LPs and compact discs and recorded for the archives of the Russian radio.

In 1989, the All-Union (now — all-Russian) Association of Piano Duets was founded, with Sorokina and Bakhchiev having been unanimously elected its presidents. They deserve a big part of the credit for organizing and conducting International Festivals of Piano Duets in Yekaterinburg, Saint-Petersburg, Nizhny Novgorod, Moscow and other cities. They were regularly invited to serve on the juries of international competitions and festivals (in Tokyo, Jerusalem, Moscow, Saint-Petersburg), as well as to teach piano duet master classes in many cities of Russia, in European countries, Japan, and Israel.

Alexander Bakhchiev (b. 1930, Moscow — d. 2007, Moscow) toured extensively as a soloist, as an ensemble player, and as a teacher. His name appears on more than 100 LPs and CDs, and he has the unique distinction of being the pianist with the largest number of recordings in the Russian radio archives. He was a professor of the Moscow Conservatory, teaching a chamber performance class. Since 2008, an annual all-Russian piano duo competition “Two at the Piano” named after A. Bakhchiev has been taking place in the city of Vologda. The competition takes place annually, alternating between children’s duos in even years and adult duos in odd years. Also, a competition of children’s duos “Dialogs at the piano” in memory of A. G. Bakhchiev takes place every two years. In 2016 it received the status of an Intetrranional competition. Every year, concerts in memory of A. G. Bakhchiev take place at the Maly Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. Many of Alexander Bakhchiev’s former musical partners participate in these performances.

A. Bakhchiev's page on the website of the Moscow Conservatory

Elena Sorokina (b. 1940, Moscow) is a doctor of music history and the author of the book “Piano Duet: History of the Genre”. From 1992 through 2011, she was head of the Russian music history program at the Moscow Conservatory, and from 2001 through 2009 also served as a vice-president for research and performing arts of the Moscow Conservatory. Until July 2016, she was a professor of the Russian music history and chamber ensemble programs at the Moscow Conservatory. Elena is currently living in New York and in Moscow. She is a permanent head of the jury of the piano duos competitions in Vologda and in Yekaterinburg. She gives talks at US universities (Cornell, Yale, Princeton, Boston University, New York University, Montclair University, Mannes College). Her lectures cover a wide array of topics, related to Russian and European music and connections between them, history of pianism and piano duets. Among them are series of lectures “John Field and Russian piano school,” “At the roots of Russian pianism (foreign musicians in Russia),” “Russian musical culture of the Silver Age,” “Russian ‘Winterreise’ of Robert Schumann,” “Liszt and Russian musical culture,” “Russian thought on Mozart.”

E. Sorokina's page on the website of the Moscow Conservatory

© Elena Sorokina, 2011 – 2014
mail@bakhchiev-sorokina.ru

English version
Александр Бахчиев и Елена Сорокина

Игра на фортепиано в четыре руки была необычайно популярной с середины ХVIII до конца ХIХ века, но к началу ХХ века этот вид музицирования оказался почти забытым. С конца 1960-х годов Александр Бахчиев и Елена Сорокина возродили этот жанр в России. К настоящему времени он превратился в неотъемлемую часть музыкальной жизни и широко используется как прекрасный метод обучения во многих российских музыкальных школах.

Александр Бахчиев и Елена Сорокина были единодушно признаны ведущей дуэтной парой в России и оставались ею в течение почти четырех десятилетий. В начале 1970-х годов они ежемесячно проводили телевизионные программы, посвящённые дуэтному музицированию, в которых они сыграли более ста оригинальных произведений для фортепианного дуэта. Многие из этих сочинений были исполнены в стране впервые. Программы передавались по главному каналу Советского Союза, и на них воспитывалось целое поколение музыкантов и любителей музыки.

Александр Бахчиев и Елена СорокинаСорокина и Бахчиев получили мировую известность, концертируя по России, Европе, Соединенным Штатам, Канаде, Израилю, Японии. Их огромный репертуар охватывал большинство сочинений, написанных для фортепиано в четыре руки и для двух фортепиано, — от самых ранних дуэтных пьес до современных сочинений, посвящённых им ведущими композиторами (среди них И. Манукян, Т. Мур, Г. Фрид, Л. Любовский, А. Боярский, А. Шнитке, Е. Подгайц, С. Губайдулина и другие). Они часто исполняли тематические концертные циклы, такие как «Музыкальные столицы мира», «Все фортепианные дуэты Моцарта», «Все фортепианные дуэты Шуберта», «Все фортепианные дуэты Шумана», «Все фортепианные дуэты Рахманинова», «И. С. Бах, его семья и ученики», «Концерты И. С. Баха для двух, трёх и четырёх клавиров и струнного оркестра», «Дуэты французских композиторов», «Музыка старой Вены», «В пушкинском Петербурге», «Музыкальная Москва Серебряного века», «Из истории дуэтной сонаты» и другие. Многие из программ записаны на пластинки, компакт-диски и в фонды Российского радио.

В 1989 году была создана Всесоюзная (ныне — Всероссийская) Ассоциация фортепианных дуэтов, президентами которой Сорокина и Бахчиев были единогласно избраны. Им принадлежит заслуга организации и проведения Международных фестивалей фортепианных дуэтов в Екатеринбурге, Санкт-Петербурге, Нижнем Новгороде, Москве и других городах. Они регулярно приглашались в жюри международных конкурсов и фестивалей (Токио, Иерусалим, Москва, Санкт-Петербург), а также на мастер-классы фортепианных дуэтов во многие города России, страны Европы, Японию, Израиль.

Александр Бахчиев (1930, Москва — 2007, Москва) был широко известен как солист, ансамблист и педагог. Записал более ста пластинок и компакт-дисков и является пианистом с рекордно большим числом записей на российском радио. Был профессором камерного ансамбля в Московской консерватории. С 2008 года в Вологде проводится ежегодный Всероссийский конкурс фортепианных дуэтов имени А. Г. Бахчиева «За роялем вдвоём». Конкурс проводится ежегодно, чередуя состав участников: в чётные годы — детские дуэты, в нёчетные — взрослые. Также раз в два года в Екатеринбурге проводится конкурс детских фортепианных дуэтов «Диалоги за роялем» памяти А. Г. Бахчиева, получивший в 2016 году статус международного. В Малом зале Московской консерватории ежегодно проходят концерты памяти А. Г. Бахчиева, в которых участвуют многие из его партнеров по камерному музицированию.

Страница Александра Бахчиева на сайте Московской консерватории

Елена Сорокина (родилась в 1940 году в Москве) — доктор искусствоведения, автор монографии «Фортепианный дуэт: история жанра». С 1992 по 2011 год заведовала Кафедрой истории русской музыки в Московской консерватории, а с 2001 по 2009 год была проректором Московской консерватории по научной и творческой работе. До июля 2016 года оставалась профессором кафедры истории русской музыки и кафедры камерного ансамбля Московской консерватории. В настоящее время живет в Нью-Йорке и в Москве. Постоянный председатель жюри конкурсов фортепианных дуэтов в Вологде и в Екатеринбурге. Читает лекции в университетах США (в Корнелле, Йелле, Принстоне, Бостонском университете, Нью-Йоркском университете, университете Монтклер, колледже Маннес). Тематика лекций охватывает широкий круг проблем истории русской и европейской музыки и их взаимосвязей, истории пианизма и фортепианного дуэта. Особо можно выделить цикл лекций по культуре Серебряного века. Среди других лекций — «Джон Фильд и русская фортепианная школа», «У истоков русского пианизма (иностранные музыканты в России)», «Русская музыкальная культура Серебряного века», «Российский „Winterreise“ Роберта Шумана», «Лист и русская музыкальная культура», «Русская мысль о Моцарте».

Страница Елены Сорокиной на сайте Московской консерватории

© Е. Г. Сорокина, 2011 – 2017
mail@bakhchiev-sorokina.ru